Breaking News
**මාධ්‍ය උපමාන නොසලකන ආයතනයන් පිළිබඳ දැඩිව අවධානය යොමුකරන්න                      **පැමිණිලි ගණනට වඩා වැදගත්වන්නේ ඒ වෙනුවෙන් කරන මැදිහත්වීමයි - රෝහණ හෙට්ටිආරච්චි මහතා                      ** We are excited to announce that our PAFFREL Team has moved to a new location in Kirulapana                     ** පැෆ්රල් නමින් නිකුත් කරන ව්‍යාජ නිවේදනවලට රැවටෙන්න එපා                      
Home › Activities › Election Monitoring › Electoral System of Sri Lanka

Electoral System of Sri Lanka

The electoral system in Sri Lanka operates at three levels-national, sub-national and local.

For purposes of holding elections, the country has been divided into 22 electoral districts. Of these 22, 20 are co-terminous with 20 of the 25 districts into which the country has been divided for administrative purposes. One of the other two electoral districts has been formed by combining three administrative districts and the other by combining two administrative Districts. The 22 electoral districts have been sub-divided into 160 polling divisions.

Presidential and Parliamentary elections are the ones that are held nationally.  Elections to Provincial Councils are held sub-nationally while elections to Municipal Councils, Urban Councils and Pradeshiya Sabhas are conducted at local level.

No.16, Byrde Place,Off Pamankada Rd,
Colombo 00600,
Tel: +94 11 2558570/71 Fax: +94 11 2558572 Email:

Copyright © 2013 Paffrel All Rights Reserved.           Solution by Tekgeeks